My First Post. (Awww!)

I am a sparkling snowflake. I am beautiful and unique, a little marvel, perfect just as I am.

Yeah. Right.

I feel the total opposite of that today. Which, dear reader (she says hopefully), is why I started this blog. I have previously attempted to keep a healthy living blog, over at Weebly. I started it hoping it would aid my motivation to make an effort to live better. After just a few months I gave it up due to time pressures and lack of inspiration. Note to self: must try harder!

So here I am, trying harder! As mentioned, I’ve had a pretty rubbish day, but I’m trying not to dwell on it.

The image above is from a book by Matthew Johnstone & his wife, Living With A Black Dog. I have suffered from depression on and off from my mid-teens, and if I’ve learned one thing about that big black dog it’s not to dwell on the bad stuff as it’s the start of a downward spiral.

One of the focuses of this blog will be battling this depression. It all sounds a bit grim put like that, so I like to think of it as working on feeling great! I intend to get my sparkle back by:

  • eating wholesome, healthy, colourful and nutritious foods
  • doing more exercise and improving my fitness
  • enjoying the things that interest me: snowboarding, rock climbing, graphic design, baking, singing and blogging
  • exploring the science behind a healthy lifestyle – both physical and mental health

So that’s what this blog will be all about. And to kick it off to the best start possible, I’ll start with the colourful delights that are about to be my dinner!

A mixture of pumpkin, butternut, acorn squash, red onion, broccoli, yellow bell pepper, sweet potato, a couple of carrots (they’d seen better days), a parsnip & garlic! I’m sad the photos aren’t doing the colours justice! It’s all so vibrant and appetizing. The little round orange squash to the left is proving a bit of a mystery though… I got it from Lidl along with the acorn, where they were labelled rather generically as “squash”. I’m thinking it’s either an oriental pumpkin, golden Hubbard squash or a red kuri squash? Freya over at Brit Chick Runs is a notorious squash-lover… perhaps she can solve the identity crisis for me? 😀

So that was before, now this is after:

SuperYUM! I roasted the veggies with extra virgin olive oil, dried sage, a dash of cinnamon, a dash of ginger and a teaspoon of brown sugar. I like to whisk these up together with about 25mL of water before tossing with the veggies to coat as I find there’s better coverage, and the water turning to steam helps soften the harder root vegetables at the start of cooking.

I had LOADS left after my meal – it’s so filling! – so it will be featuring a lot over the coming days, I’m sure. My next few posts will include a little more info about myself and what I do, and hopefully I’ll get into the swing of blogging again.  I really hope to get involved in the healthy blogging community so feel free to say “Hi” and ask anything you want to know the answer to! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My First Post. (Awww!)

  1. Maria says:

    Hey fi, thanks for your comment. Wow, your right it does seem like we have quite a lot in common. It’s a rare thing to find another blogger from England (let alone London). Is it just me or do you always feel let out when you read about all the amazing foods they have over in the USA ? Haha.
    Your roasted veg sounds yummmmyy 🙂 I had something like it that my mum made ages ago, i’m gonna get her to make it again. Its basically the same but you add sausages to it (well, quorn sausages for me).
    Howa ya? (probs should’ve asked that first, but hey! I’ve never been one for doing normal things haha).
    Stay strong and don’t let that evil ED tell you you can’t have what you want. You can achieve anything and be anyone 🙂
    Much love
    Maria xoxo

    • I know!! They seem to have so many cool health foods over in the States! I’m always on the lookout for weird and wonderful foods. I think Marmite is about the only unique thing us Brits have, hehee!
      Your sausage variant sounds really good, gonna have to try that. I debated putting some bacon or something in this one, but figured I already too many ingredients!
      And I am doing pretty well, thank you for asking 🙂 I’m about to post my next entry so you can read all about it!
      Thank you so much for your comment, you’re officially the first comment of this new blog! Woo yeah! 😀
      xxx

  2. So many squashes! What incredible taste you have 😛
    I THINK that’s a sugar pumpkin…but I’m not certain….
    Great meal though!!

    • Excellent! I thought it might be when I tried the cooked version – it was very sweet and mild flavoured! Until I started trying to solve that mystery I’d never even heard of Hubbard or kuri squash… Who knew there were so many varieties?!
      Thanks for the input Freya! 🙂
      xxx

Leave a Reply

