What a great start to the week!

I’d like to thank each of you who posted so positively on my last entry. I really wasn’t expecting such an open and supportive response – you have really made my day, and reaffirmed that I am making the right choice to recover and to do so within this community of amazing people!

* I will also get back to your comments individually this evening, but I’m a little behind schedule! *

This is Monday’s entry – we had a bit of drama with our internetz… our landlord cancelled the internet we set up and replaced it a service he is paying for. Which is cool, except he didn’t tell us! But after a bit of kerfuffle it’s all sorted now, so I can get on to the exciting business of posting about my excellent Monday!

The surgical placement that I have been on for the last 3 weeks meant I had to be in the hospital by 7.30am – that meant a 5am wake-up, eughh!  But today I began on rheumatology, who joyfully don’t start until 9am! That’s nearly 2 hours longer in bed. Brilliant! We met the team, went on the ward round, spoke to a patient each, had a short teaching session and then went home – at midday! That may not sound like the most productive of days, but essentially we got more done in 3 hours there than we did in the whole day with the surgical team. I’ve explained a little more in my next post.

First order of the day should have been breakfast, right? But I was in a bit of a rush: I am NEVER organised in the mornings! I grabbed a peach probiotic yogurt, a little plum, an apple and a little cheddar cheese but didn’t get to eat them until nearly 11am. By then my stomach was growling so loudly I’m surprised I didn’t scare people off…

James (my housemate/also a medic) and I had a sunny trip back home on the train and tried to decide what to do with all this free time! I started writing this post, but that was the moment of doom when our internet gave out. 😦

So I decided to have a crack at making soup from scratch which resulted in a rather tasty concoction – spiced parsnip, pumpkin & red onion with wild rice and pearl barley! That’s rather a mouthful so given the time of year I think I’ll just nickname it Halloween Soup! I’m liking the orange and black colours together, I think it’s quite suited to the holiday?

That was lunch! It took a couple of hours to make, as I didn’t realise how long the pearl barley and wild rice took to cook! I think it needs a little tweaking before I post a recipe, but it already has a fan club in my house.

Next I got down to some grocery shopping, and then chilled in front of the TV. It was completely unintentional but I found myself watching Pretty Little Liars on Viva… I actually quite enjoyed it. I think I’ll be watching it from now on, I can always do with another guilty pleasure. Does anyone else watch Pretty Little Liars?
On to the business of dinner. I still have LOTS of roasted vegetables left from Thursday so I combined them with some grains – spelt, durum wheat and millet – and whipped up some satay sauce with peanut butter, coconut milk, thai sweet chilli sauce and soy sauce. Delish!

The ice-cube tray at the back is my nifty way of storing excess sauces – satay isn’t great for this as you can’t pop the individual cubes out very easily but it works a treat with other sauces – so you can pop out how ever much you need without having to defrost a bigger container.

I simply ADORE satay sauce. I don’t know what it is but that peanutty-goodness.. it’s like crack! 😉 And it’s soooo easy to make. I’m going to have to restrain myself from using it all up over the coming week. Mmm, saucy minx. What’s your favourite sauce?

Oh, and one last nibble before bed – the last of the chocolate brownies I made for my family at the weekend. Most of them stayed in Southend, but I couldn’t resist keeping a couple… I have such a sweet tooth! Are you a sweet or savoury kinda person?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a great start to the week!

  1. Maria says:

    Yuuuum, choc brownie is the best lil’ bedtime snackage 🙂
    And is that a Salisbury’s yoghurt I spy? Looks mighty familiar lol. In answer to the favourite sauce question, snap. I absolutely ADORE peanut satay, just gimme some noodles and its a meal. xxx

    • I hate to toot my own horn as it were, but that batch of brownies was one of the best I’ve ever made! I was so sad to give them away, hehe. 😦
      Alas, it’s just one of The Co-Op’s own brand ones!
      Do tell, what do you put in your satay sauce? I’m always up for tweaking my recipe..
      xxx

  2. Maria says:

    Well, If I’m very honest I rarely make satay sauce as I’m a) Too lazy and b) Too addicted to the ones from supermarkets. My fave is probably m&s but I haven’t had it in ages and dunno if they even do it anymore. But I think they put a bit o’ honey in it which was delish. I’m sure there are some good ones on l’internet 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

