Oh Sunny Day!

DSC00261

Today was a gorgeous sunny day! Huzzah!

Over the last week or so, it’s been pretty chilly – you can really tell it’s November; Autumn has well and truly set in. Today was one of those gorgeous bright, cold, crisp days and it certainly lifted my spirits to see a bit of sunshine! Rather than be in the hospital today, we were sent to visit a hospice. It was an interesting experience and wasn’t at all what I was expecting – it was large, modern and colourful… not the dark depressing place I had in my mind.

That only took half the day, but on my way home I helped a friend pick up 7kg of baking potatoes! I didn’t have my camera on me, but take my word for it, that’s a lot of potatoes! She’s making dinner for 35 people as part of the ‘Autumn Fair’ she’s organising for the old people where she lives – we have an initiative called Griffin House, where students get cheap accommodation provided they spend some time volunteering with the residents of the old people’s home next door. I very nearly applied to live there myself, but we found such a great apartment where we are now that I didn’t need to. Still, I’d love to spend some time volunteering there anyway, so it’s something I’m going to look into. Do you do any volunteer work?

I had a nice walk home which brings my total over the last 2 days to 12.8km. My hips seem to be holding up really well, so I’m thinking I’ll pop to the gym tomorrow and do some cardio, with a view to starting running outdoors again. 😀 I actually much prefer to run in colder weather – satisfying as it is to work up a sweat, I always feel gross and sticky and like it better when the cold keeps me cooler! Do prefer to run in the summer or the winter? How do your work-outs vary depending on the time of year?

By the time I got home I was famished! Breakfast was a non-event, I was running late again so got by on a couple of bourbon biscuits provided with the tea and coffee at the hospice. But lunch more than made up for it…DSC00799

Mussels in white wine sauce with fresh snipped herbs.

DSC00801

Crusty white bread to dunk, steamed zucchini and onion squash for colour.

I would’ve loved some wholemeal or seeded bread to go with this, but most of the local shops (Lidl, Tesco Express) are rather lacking in the healthier breads department. 😦 And I HAD to have some kind of bread – how else do you mop up all that saucy goodness?! 😆

Dinner is yet to come, but I’m not feeling that hungry this evening… It’s definitely cold enough for some comfort food, so I’m thinking of trying a recipe from You Are What You Eat – Millet Mash! I’ll see how it goes and post the recipe and some photos if it’s a success.

Happy Thursday everyone!

Are you looking forward to the weekend? What are your plans?

Oh, and don’t forget to comment on this entry to get involved in my graze box giveaway!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Oh Sunny Day!

  1. Anna S. says:

    Those mussels look delicious! How interesting that you are a med student. I can’t wait to read more of your blog.

  2. Maria says:

    I never mentioned – i’m only doing my AS levels but i’m applying to do medicine at uni (wanted to be a dr since I was 4!) its awesome that ur a med student 🙂 Those mussels looks delish and the crusty bread to dunk – yuuuumy. Hope you had a good day 🙂 xxx

    • That’s wicked! Well if you ever have any questions about med school or UCAS applications just let me know and I’d be more than happy to help 🙂 Thanks for the comment & I hope you’re having a fantastic weekend!
      xxx

  3. Hope says:

    Mmmm I agree, those mussels look so good I think my tummy just grumbled lol!

  4. skinny latte says:

    I agree, it was a gorgeous day yesterday! I so enjoyed my walk to work in the chilly sunshine. Today’s walk…not so much! 😉

    I like running in the colder weather too, as it motivates me to run faster!! But that said I prefer running in the evenings after work and find that hard as winter sets in. I like running in sunny but cool weather, I’d say! So I think I might have to start running in my lunch break during the colder months 🙂

    Love your blog, and thank you for dropping by on mine! I look forward to reading more!

    • Haha, tell me about it! The weather has been so miserable 😦
      I’m definitely more an evening exerciser too, though I wish I could be one of these people who is motivated to work out at the crack of dawn! Bed is just tooooo tempting 😆 Good luck with running on your lunchbreak, do you work in the city or somewhere a bit quieter?
      Thanks so much for coming by!
      xxx

  5. Miri says:

    Hey Fi!

    I did some volunteer work at a hospital my last year of undergrad. It was interesting because I ended up being a companion for patients that needed supervision. I have to admit, it was not something that I enjoyed so I stopped volunteering there. I love working in hospitals, but sitting for hours was grueling!

    As far as workouts go, I workout in the afternoons so I have to adjust my running time based on the sunset. It’s a pain when I live in Florida and it rains a lot!

    Thanks again for stopping by my blog! Love your blog, and am looking forward to reading more about you 🙂

    • That’s so cool that you volunteered at a hospital 😀 I know what you mean about sitting for hours though, I’ve had to do that a couple of times and jeez, it’s boring! Either that or you’re chasing after the patient when they’re confused and trying to escape/wander off…
      Hehe, coming from the UK I never envisage Florida as a rainy place, we’re fed all the tourist images of beaches and glorious sunsets. But I did visit when I was younger and remember the most terrifying lightning storm EVER. So I commiserate with you on the rain!
      Thanks for returning the visit, I hope I can entertain and look forward to reading more of you!
      xxx

  6. What a gorgeous picture of the wharf; it was good to get ONE nice day this week! Not good having to do the horses the other days… 🙂
    I can’t eat “normal” bread now as a coeliac but used to love the Sainsbury’s own brand, uncut multi-seeded loaf… droool….!

  7. Oh, mate! I bet it was more than a wee bit muddy with the horses 😉
    Multi-seed bread is just the bomb. How does GF bread compare to regular bread, do you feel you miss out at all?
    As always, thank you for commenting 🙂
    xxx

Leave a Reply

