When breakfast is so good it deserves it’s own post…

Today is a day of good things. Especially breakfast!

First I made some vanilla almond omega crunch, toasting it in the oven for about an hour. I’m going to claim this was intentional and made the finished product crunchier. Absolutely nothing to do with forgetting about it… *whistles* If you would like to know how to make this delicious “VAOC”, (abbreviated because I’m lazy) you can find the recipe here.

DSC00361

Then I made gingerbread oats, as inspired by Allie. I don’t have any blackstrap molasses like she used, but I do have this…

DSC00377

Lyle’s Black Treacle! And a teaspoon of dark brown sugar. Oats always call for brown sugar rather than white. I’m not being colourist, it’s just how it works 😉

That went in with the oats, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice and vanilla…

DSC00376

Then I nuked it in the microwave with water, and topped it with the VAOC, a sprinkle more brown sugar and a few mini white chocolate stars.

DSC00378

DSC00380

Not the prettiest of breakfasts, but definitely one of the nicest!

And anyway, beauty is in the eye of the beholder mouth of the breakfaster!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When breakfast is so good it deserves it’s own post…

  1. Mmmm! I saw some recipes with treacle in them….I bet they are the same thing like eggplant and aubergine 🙂 Maybe…

    Your topping looks phenomenal.

    • I’m a total nerd so I did some googling – from what I can tell, treacle is a mix of molasses and lighter syrup from the refining of crystallised sugar. I think. Although other sources tell me blackstrap and treacle are the same! Hey ho, close enough anyway 😉

      In case you’re interested I’ve edited in the recipe for the topping here.

      Thanks for coming by and commenting 🙂
      xxx

      • Loving the sound of the gingerbread porridge, the crunchy topping – and the white chocolate stars! Where did you find them??
        Just turned on the computer to find out the state of the roads and find breakfast inspiration as well – thanks! x

  2. Ah mate, even though I say so myself, it was pretty fantastic! Hehe!
    The stars came from Asda I think!? And I’m sure I’ve seen assorted white, milk and dark chocolate shapes in my local Co-Op as well. They certainly add a bit of glamour to breakfast 😉
    I hope your version was just as great! xxx

  3. Pingback: Breakfast the easy way | Eating like a horse

Leave a Reply

