I get by with a little help from my friends…

2011 is going to be the start of some great things. Over the next few days I will be detailing some goals and ambitions I have for the year ahead. Each subject will get it’s own introductory post, and then each month I plan to write a follow-up updating on my progress – I’m hoping that this extra accountability will help me stay focused and on track – and perhaps you lovely readers will cheer me on my way!

DSC01904

This photo is of a beautiful magnet I bought this afternoon. I love the message – it sums up the philosophy I’m trying to adopt for 2011. I met up with an old friend for coffee and some shopping, hence the magnet. My friend and I hadn’t seen each other for about 5 years, until we bumped into each other by chance when I first came down to stay with my parents. We both went to school here though our lives have been quite difference since. We set a date to get together in Starbucks. Meeting up again after so long was quite nerve-wracking, and there were a few awkward moments but overall it was really good to catch up. Our friendship was known for it’s warped sense of humour and crazy in-jokes; we both still share that and it was fun re-connecting.

“The most beautiful discovery true friends make is that they can grow separately without growing apart.” 

                                              – Elisabeth Foley

One of my goals for 2011 is to put more into my friendships.

I am the first to admit that I do not give enough of myself as a friend – as a result I have grown apart from several great people over the years. People who I am honoured to have known and should’ve appreciated while I had the chance. Having low self-esteem has not helped matters; I’ve been the girl who thinks she’s doing everyone a favour by not showing up to the party, the girl who thinks she’s making a nuisance of herself if she calls on the phone. It’s taken me a long time to accept that people enjoy and value my company as much as I enjoy and value theirs. Now I know this, the true meaning of friendship becomes clearer and so do my responsibilities. An invite to a party says “I would love you to share in this celebration”, and a phone call says “I care about how you are”. Making the effort to keep in touch is a compliment: it says “I value your presence in my life, and I appreciate your trust to include me in yours”.

In the age of Facebook and text messages, it’s easy to feel like you’re playing a part in your friendship. But connecting in person is SO much better – to share laughter face-to-face, to hear the emotion in her voice as she tells of her new romance, to be able to hug him to console his loss.

330374

source.

So I challenge you: Let a friend (old or new) know you’re thinking of them. Send a card (nice things in the mail make anyone smile!),  phone for a chat… or better yet arrange a get together! Friendships are precious things to loose. And as you’re reading this, I’d like to invite you to become a new friend – pop me a comment! 🙂

This entry was posted in 2011 Goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

