Do you know… the creole soda bread man? (Hint: he’s easily mistaken for the muffin man)

It’s happened again! Suddenly it’s Friday again and I don’t know where the week has gone! Most people I know wish for their weeks to fly by like this, but sometimes I feel like I’ll never quite catch up on life.

This week has held some very healthy things – yoga, green monsters,   abs & upper body work-outs, vegan muffinbread, peanut butter oats, laughing until my sides hurt, the second coming of the Halloween soup, a whole day of sunshine, organic apple flapjack yoghurt, Mummy-hugs, a couple of short runs, ploughing through a good book, avocados, cuddles with Bailey… to name a few!

Not all of those moments were lucky enough to be captured on camera, but the vegan muffinbread was in the right place at the right time… my local farmer’s market! It’s actually held on the university grounds and has loads of treats on offer. I plan to pop back with my camera next week and dedicate a proper post to showcase all the local/organic/vegan/artisan produce on sale. I’m very fortunate to have it on my doorstep.

Right, so, the vegan muffinbread is actually a misnomer. Technically, it’s creole soda bread. It gained the muffinbread nickname as I tried to describe it to Allin over the phone. It comes in loaf size yet has the taste and consistency  of muffins although I’m assured they have half the fat & sugar content. I’m pretty impressed by this, as they honestly taste twice as good as regular muffins/cake. Kudos to The Global Fusion Vegan Bakery!

DSC01941 DSC02255

DSC01967

I bought a hunk of mixed berry loaf and a hunk of beetroot and carrot & pumpkin seed. I knew I’d love the mixed berry, but I picked the carrot and beetroot because it sounded unusual. But now I honestly can’t decide which is my favourite, they’re both mouthwateringly good. At £8 per loaf, you’d hope so! As you can see from the photo top left, a loaf is pretty big and they are kind enough to sell it in halves or quarters so I got the equivalent of half a loaf and change from a fiver. Can’t argue with that! 😀 If you’re ever in Stoke Newington or near a London farmer’s market, keep an eye out!

The carrot & beetroot loaf got me thinking… what crazy stuff can I bake into a muffin or loaf? I’ve promised a friend I’ll bake something and bring it for lunch when we meet on Monday – any suggestions? What’s the weirdest combination you can think of?

A lot of time this week has been spent hunched over my computer as I was doing a bit of work designing icons for a company’s software. My back doesn’t appreciate it much because my ‘at desk posture’ is appalling (I blame the cheap IKEA chair…. and OK, I’m a bit lazy when it comes to sitting up/hunching over). How is your computer/desk posture? How do you keep ache-free?

On that note, I’m keeping this short and sweet so I can power down my laptop and have a good stretch! I’m looking forward to spending the weekend doing… whatever I feel like! I don’t have any plans and I’m looking forward to relaxing since I worked hard to meet the tight deadline on the icons.

Whatever you get up to, I hope you have a fantastic weekend, gals (& guys)! I hope you enjoy every minute 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do you know… the creole soda bread man? (Hint: he’s easily mistaken for the muffin man)

  1. Lauren says:

    That muffin/soda bread looks SO good! Unfortunately our farmer’s market doesn’t have vegan baked goods (yet) so I have to make my own!

    Maybe you could make some ginger muffin loaves! =) Thank you for visiting my blog!

  2. emily says:

    I don’t care what it’s called, the muffinbread looks amazing! I love the creative combos, too. I would love to try something with kale and cranberries. 🙂

    • Haha, the name doesn’t really matter when you’re shoving it in your mouth, right?
      Kale and cranberry sounds neat… I wouldn’t have thought of putting kale in anything baked but a quick google suggests it’s possible! Thanks for the suggestion! xxx

  3. flopenfold says:

    That beetroot loaf looks SOOO good!

Leave a Reply

