The Big Bad Bread Post.

Who’s afraid of the big bad bread, the big bad bread, the big bad bread? *to the tune of ‘Who’s afraid of the big bad wolf’, obviously!*

Errrm. Me.

Bread is my fear food. I’ve noticed many people mention how avocado was once a fear food, due to it’s high fat content. Interestingly that’s never bothered me, but I cannot eat bread and not feel guilty afterwards. In my mind, it’s a nutritionally devoid, highly addictive, over-processed foodstuff. Now, since there are as many types of bread as there are stars in the sky (well, almost… it seems like the bread aisle at the supermarket goes on forever and ever), then that’s clearly not true of all of them.

80% of commercially produced bread in the UK is produced using the Chorleywood Bread Process using low-quality, low-protein wheat. It is made using an excess of yeast to speed up the rising procress, and the fast rise results in a loss of flavour (so fat and salt are added to combat this) and the finished dough also requires stabilisers, emulsifiers and solid fat to keep the texture stable when baking (thanks for the info, The Ecologist). YUCK.

image_science019

(source.)

I didn’t actually know all these details until I researched it. But before that, my gut feeling told me bread = bad. Why?

Because:

  • I can eat a lot of it without feeling satisfied.
  • It’s often paired with other less healthy ingredients – butter, cheese, sandwich meats etc.
  • It’s bland yet once I’ve taken I bite, I want to eat more.
  • Even a quick look at the ingredients tells me it contains E-numbers and additives.
  • It lasts an unnaturally long time (thanks to stabilisers and chemical mould inhibitors).

Also, the circumstances in which I eat bread often gave rise to feelings of guilt. As a recovering bulimic, bread is the sort of carby foodstuff that one craves when using food to regulate emotions. While I didn’t often buy bread in loaf form, I ate a lot of bread-based products like pizza and fast food in buns. If it satisfies a need when eating and purging, it’s unlikely to be a healthy choice in a normal diet! Even when eating bread as part of a balanced diet, I find it is SO easy to over-eat, or cave in to bread-products that come loaded with additional fat and calories (20g fat in a Naan bread anyone?). I have also felt negatively about bread in other contexts – despite the additives, it often goes mouldy before I can eat it all, which makes me feel bad for being wasteful. Buying ready-made sandwiches in shops is a complete rip-off (money-wise and nutritionally) – check out Gill’s post over at Snax and The City, which sums up the negatives of ready-made sandwiches.

That said, good bread tastes nice. I can’t deny it, and I don’t want to deny it – bread is something I would like to enjoy as part of a healthy, nutritionally balanced, ‘everything most things in moderation’ lifestyle.

So what’s a girl to do? Obviously there are healthier choices out there, and I try to stick to them – wholegrain, wholemeal, seeded etc. But supermarket brands almost always contain additives, and I’ve found that staff in local chain bakeries (e.g. Greggs) don’t actually know what go into the products they sell. There is the odd artisan bakery… they’re good, they know it and they charge accordingly!

The answer? BAKE MY OWN.

SONY DSC

Combine simple straight-forward ingredients with warm water to activate the yeast, (save the oats & wheat flakes). Mix until combined into a dough.

DSC02304

Check out the amazing one-handed kneading/photo-taking multitasking!

DSC02319

Regard smooth ball of springy dough with satisfaction.

DSC02320

Put dough in lightly oiled bowl, cover with a damp towel. Take one photo but make sure you miss the fact that it’s not in focus before moving on.

DSC02323

Leave until risen to double size, then do the pokey-pokey to make sure it’s ready.

DSC02324

Remove from bowl, punch and flatten to remove the air. Decide you’re making way too much and get half ready to freeze for another occasion.

DSC02327

Follow this video to form into double knot-rolls. Brush the top with beaten egg and sprinkle the oats & wheat flakes. Cover with towel and allow to prove.

DSC02330

Do a rather demented happy dance around the kitchen as everything is going to plan so far. Whack ‘em in the oven. Enjoy the smell of fresh bread wafting through the house!

DSC02334

DSC02335

DSC02336

Do more joyful dancing, interspersed with nibbling warm-from-the-oven-made-from-scratch-guilt-free-very-tasty bread! Spend the rest of the day telling everyone you meet that you baked your own bread for the first time.

I would love to know –

What are your fear foods? Or are all foods there for the chompin’?

Have you ever made your own bread? What are your thoughts on commercial bread?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Big Bad Bread Post.

  1. Gill (snaxandthecity) says:

    thanks for the pingback hon 🙂

    nice rolls – they look really good! i agree that commercial bread is rubbish – i pretty much never eat it. the chemicals weird me out! home-made is where it’s at, esp since you can make it so much more filling with seeds and nuts and stuff.

  2. Hooray for bread-making! I never buy it and almost always make my own… I suppose that’s something to be grateful to my coeliac disease for because I don’t think I’d make my own otherwise!
    Those rolls look delicious and I love the new blog look 🙂

  3. annecalista says:

    Thank you for your comment on my blog, and I’m so glad I stopped by yours today because I can totally relate to your fears and feelings of guilt from eating bread (or a specific food in general). When I was battling an ED, bread was something I cut out of my diet and it became completely scary to me. Once in awhile I would eat it, but it would usually become a binge. I love that you decided to make you own, that is a perfect solution to the processed stuff that is called bread nowadays in the grocery store. Another idea would be to find a local bakery that makes whole grain bread daily w/out preservatives. 🙂

    • Thank you for stopping by in return! It weird how certain foods become so much more than they are in the context of an ED… I mean, at the end of the day, a piece of bread isn’t going to kill anyone but getting over the fear can be quite a challenge. Great suggestion, I’m on the lookout for a nice little local bakery but they’re few & far between around here 😦
      xxx

  4. Miri says:

    You’re my hero! That bread looks so yummy!

    I think my fear food is pizza. It is the only food that I can’t stop myself from eating. Once I start, I can’t stop. Cheese and bread are a killer combination for me!

  5. skinny latte says:

    During the first half of this post, I kept thinking “make your own, make your own!” and then you did 🙂

    I love homemade bread, there is nothing like it. Do you have a breadmaker? That makes it even easier! Yesterday I made sundried tomato and olive bread. Very yummy dipped into hummous, I discovered.

    Fear foods – I actually don’t have any. All foods are there for the chompin’, as you put it. It isn’t the presence of a certain food that makes me want to stuff my gob – it’s how I’m feeling. When I’m bored, I tend to nibble far more than I usually would, and go back for more when normally one or two would be fine. Or if I’m tired, if I’m upset….this is what makes me have more than I need.

    Great post, and enjoy the bread making – I look forward to seeing more homemade goodies 🙂

    • Haha, nothing like a good bit of internet telepathy 😉
      I don’t have a breadmaker and at the moment we just don’t have the space in the kitchen. My parents have one and I do gaze longingly at it when I visit, but for now I’m doing it the traditional way. Good stress buster though!
      Sundried tomato + olive + hummous = heaven, always. Will definitely have to give that a crack.
      I totally hear you on the emotional eating; it’s hard to be mindful of what goes into our mouths when we’re tired/upset/bored/stressed etc.
      Thanks for your comment & I’ll do my best to oblige with the homemade goodies, hehe!
      xxx

  6. Sarah says:

    Your bread looks absolutely gorgeous! Homemade bread is actually one of my favorite things to make, although I haven’t done so in a very long time. I think I may make some today, though, thanks to your post.

    I’ve always had that “bread=bad” gut feeling too. I wouldn’t say it was ever one of my fear foods, but it wasn’t something I really let myself have a lot of either. My big fear food was always cheese. Avocados never bothered me- somehow they seemed ok, but cheese didn’t.

    • Ooh, I hope you do! It’s so worth it, isn’t it? Even just for that divine smell… nom.
      I can relate to cheese and fear. It sucks that there are so many foods out there that we can get worked up over when they’re not actually so bad if enjoyed in moderation.
      xxx

Leave a Reply

