Food & rugby… terrific combination!

First up – daily food! Because it’s been a while, hasn’t it? I’m quite proud of my eats today, I made a lot of things from scratch. Breakfast was especially good, I used a mix of malthouse bread flour and ASDA ‘Ready Oats’ (finely milled oats and oat flour) which resulted in THE FLUFFIEST PANCAKES KNOWN TO MANKIND! Fo’ seriouz.

DSC02913

Oat & malthouse flour pancakes topped with hot banana, blueberries & syrup (both maple and agave).

DSC02914

To the left: roasted kabocha squash, red bell pepper & brussels sprouts. To the right: leftover veggie and millet casserole. At the top: a few chunks of experimental half baked bread.

DSC02941 DSC02950

The experimental bread was made with the frozen dough from my bread post. I was checking it was OK, so I could go ahead and make this ^ Olive oil, garlic & herb flatbread with cheese. Yumm-o!

DSC02960

The flatbread was to accompany this homemade lentil soup, which we topped with crispy bacon, red pepper (it’s there somewhere) & chives.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

A quick look through my camera tells I have been slack – I have at least 3 events worth posting about this week that I didn’t get around to!  Adventures ahoy!

The first of these was a brave and daring mission – 147 miles away. Allin, Ant and I went to Exeter to watch a rugby match. Bit of a long way to go for a game, you say? Not just any game – Harlequins vs. Exeter Chiefs. Ant is a die-hard Harlequins fan, and a friend of Allin’s regularly watches the Chiefs play, so we all decided to meet up.

Are you sitting comfortably? Then we’ll begin…

The story starts with a long and serious train ride (they claim these are their best serious faces).

DSC02448

We passed through several stations and discovered that if one should wish, one could travel to ‘Mousehole’ (HOW COOL IS THAT?!?! I WANT TO GO! Smile).

DSC02468

DSC02476 

DSC02501

DSC02502

A picnic lunch – not forgetting bakeday flapjacks! – was eaten…

DSC02508

DSC02509

…in front of beautiful cathedral.

DSC02506

Well, one half of it was beautiful.

DSC02503

Someone modelled a very attractive 80’s style cool-bag.

DSC02526

There was even a nice photo! Both Ant and I look reasonably normal, this is very rare.

DSC02529

We went to one of my favourite places ever: Lakeland. I bought stuff I shouldn’t have (because there just isn’t space in our kitchen and my bank account hates me).

DSC02972

For 80 minutes we watched men run around in short shorts.

DSC02550

We watched them fall over. We watched them scrum, and try, and convert. We watched an awful lot of the official photographer’s back.

DSC02568

DSC02604

DSC02583

I spent quite a long time gazing longingly at his incredible zoom lens. No, that’s not a euphemism 😉

DSC02592

The Harlequins lost miserably to the home team. Sad times. We drowned our sorrows with a pint (of lemonade in my case) and took a long train ride home, via Paddington Bear.

DSC02620

DSC02617

And then we all lived happily ever after.

Before this trip I’d never visited Exeter. Edit: OK, correction to this. According to my Mum we went on a family trip there when I was 12 months old. Silly me, how could I forget?!

I really fell in love with the place! It’s all historic buildings and green rolling hills – just 5 minutes from the city centre and you can see vast stretches of countryside! It wasn’t busy like London but it wasn’t quiet either – just calm and civilised. The city centre had all the shops I could dream of needing (errm, so long as Lakeland is there, I’m a very happy bunny!) yet it had character and charm. And raised road curbs. These are essential: how else are you supposed to fall and twist your ankle? I tested just to check. Suitably dangerous. (I’m fine now :p)

I’ve been pondering moving away from London to do my foundation training once I qualify (now in 3 years time), and I think I’ve found my dream destination!

Where do you live and do you like it? Where would you like to move to?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Food & rugby… terrific combination!

  1. Tara says:

    So jealous of the kabocha squash! I’ve NEVER been able to find one! Apparently they’re amazing? Rugby seems very cool too. I’ve never seen a game before, but I would love to see one if I had the opportunity.
    I live outside of Philadelphia in the US. I would like to move somewhere with no winters because I hate the cold! Luckily I will have to opportunity in a year and a half for college! I’m mostly looking at California.

    • I was so lucky to find this – over here there’s a store called Waitrose that is usually a good place to spot them, but every time I’ve been they have none. Got lucky this time! They are very good, really dense and velvety almost.
      I hope you get to go college in California, sounds like a dream! I don’t think I’d miss miserable winters either. 😉
      xxx

  2. I’ve lived quite a few places and liked most of them – the only place I’ve lived and didn’t like was Blackpool. I’m in Leeds and the moment and it’s got a good city centre and is ideal for accessing the Yorkshire Dales.
    I like visiting my friends in London, but I would think hard about moving there because it’s so expensive and big – it’s fairly easy to get anywhere in Leeds!

  3. Looks like you have been having so much fun visiting different cities. Your right the cathederal is beautiful. I love old and historic buildings like that!

  4. I’ve never been to Exeter. Everyone says its a beautiful city though, so i’d love to go!
    And your pancakes look delishhh. I had pancakes for breakfast (carrot cake version – try them!) 😉

Leave a Reply

